Skip to toolbar

CHOBE has expanded its Executive Team

We are pleased to welcome the following new members to our Executive and look forward to working with them: Professor Michaela Keenan, Associate Dean, Faculty of Computing, Engineering and Built Environment, Ulster University Dr Paul Greenhalgh, Head of Built Environment, Northumbria University Dr Amrit Sagoo, Head of Construction Management and Quantity Surveying, School of Architecture, DEsign and Built Environment, Nottingham Trent University Mark Wilson, Head of Surveying, Construction and Project Management, School of Built Environment, Read more…

CHOBE Webinar and AGM, 3rd March 2021, 14:00

We are delighted that Chris Millward – Director for Fair Access and Participation, Office for Students (OfS) will be leading the seminar and subsequent discussion. He will be discussing priorities for OfS regulation and funding to support recovery from the pandemic and future prosperity. To reserve a place, please email We will be holding our Annual General Meeting 2021 immediately after the seminar. This will be a closed meeting for CHOBE Heads and the Read more…

“The State of Global Surveying Education”, CHOBE/RICS funded research, now published

We are delighted to launch “The State of Global Surveying Education”. This research was commissioned jointly by CHOBE and RICS, and was carried out by Robert Gordon University. It is an overview report on surveying education across the globe and extends the “State of the Nation” analyses first carried out by CHOBE in 2008 with iterations in 2010 and 2015. The report builds on significant previous research regarding education and pedagogy within surveying. It defines Read more…

Making Teaching Measurement Engaging: 30th June, 15:00 – 16.30

This seminar will be hosted by members of the CHOBE Measurement Special Interest Group. It will explore themes associated with teaching Measurement, in particular the challenges and opportunities presented by the recent need to move all teaching online. These include issues to do with numeracy, visualisation and spatial awareness, as well as engagement with and awareness of student perspectives. The seminar will be presented by Cathy Higgs, UCEM, Dr Anthony Ward, Nottingham Trent University, Dr Read more…

iBEE2020 is cancelled.

Following the cancellation of the ASC Conference in Liverpool on 3rd and 4th of September, of which iBEE was a stream, the CHOBE Executive has decided not to go ahead given the current uncertainty re coronavirus and lockdown. We will be putting on a series of online seminars over coming months so please visit this website to find out more in  due cours

New Chair for CHOBE

Aled Williams from UCEM is the new CHOBE Chair following the AGM held on February 11th. We have said goodbye and thanks to Professor Mike Riley who has been appointed as Pro-Vice-Chancellor Faculty of Engineering and Technology at LJMU. Jane Wright will continue to serve on the Executive as Vice-Chair

ICMS Second Edition

To those who teach and/or research in the area of quantity surveying or construction cost management, the 2nd edition of the International Construction Measurement Standards (ICMS) is now available. Please see here for details ICMS 2nd edition incorporates life cycle cost.